Samuel J. Abrams

Ph.D. in Political Science, 2010.
Professor of Politics and Social Sciences, Sarah Lawrence College.
Research Fellow, Hoover Institution

Christopher Adolph

Ph.D. in Political Science, 2005.
Associate Professor of Political Science and Adjunct Associate Professor of Statistics, University of Washington.

Robert Wood Johnson Scholar in Health Policy Research, University of Michigan (2008-2009).

Book by Christopher Adolph

Christopher Adolph's first book, Bankers, Bureaucrats, and Central Bank Politics: the Myth of Neutrality has been published by Cambridge University Press, 2013. 

Winner of the 2014 Charles Levine Memorial Prize for Best Book in Comparative Public Policy and Administration.

Christopher Adolph's dissertation, "The Dilemma of Discretion: Career Ambitions and the Politics of Central Banking," has won the 2005 Mancur Olson Award for best dissertation in political economy, given the by the Political Economy Section of the American Political Science Association.... Read more about Christopher Adolph

Weihua (Edward) An

Ph.D. in Sociology, 2011.
Assistant Professor of Sociology and Quantitative Theory and Methods, Emory University.
Asad L. Asad

Asad L. Asad

Ph.D. in Sociology, 2017.
Center for the Study of Inequality Postdoctoral Fellow, Cornell University, 2017-2019.
Assistant Professor of Sociology and (by courtesy) Public Policy, University of Michigan (beginning 2019).

Lucy Barnes

Ph.D. in Political Economy and Government, 2010.
Lecturer in Comparative Politics, University College London

Postdoctoral Prize Research Fellow, Nuffield College, Oxford (2011-2013).

Lucy Barnes is the 2009 recipient of the Best Paper...

Read more about Lucy Barnes

Samuel Barrows

Ph.D. in Government, 2014.
Postdoctoral Fellow, Program on Education Policy and Governance, Harvard Kennedy School.
Natalie Bau

Natalie Bau

Ph.D. in Public Policy, 2015.
Assistant Professor of Economics, University of Toronto.

Deirdre Bloome

Ph.D. in Sociology and Social Policy, 2014.
Assistant Professor of Sociology, University of Michigan.

Leah Platt Boustan

Ph.D. in Economics, 2006.
Professor of Economics, Princeton University.

Leah Platt Boustan is the author of Competition in the Promised Land: Black Migrants in Northern Cities and Labor Markets, published by Princeton University Press in October 2016.

Leah Platt Boustan '06, Carola Frydman '06, and Robert A. Margo are the editors of Human Capital in History: The American Record, published by the University of Chicago Press in October 2014. 

Human Capital in HistoryLeah Platt Boustan is a recipient of a 2013 Straus Fellowship with The Straus Institute for the Advanced Study of Law and Justice at NYU School of Law. Straus Fellows are selected annually to pursue research on a common theme, which for 2013-2014 is “Racial, Ethnic, and Economic Segregation.”  

Leah Platt Boustan is the winner of a 2012 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship, awarded to "126 early-career scholars [who] represent the most promising scientific researchers working today."

Leah Platt Boustan’s dissertation, "The Effect of Black Migration on Northern Cities and Labor Markets, 1940-1970,” has won the Economic History Association’s Alan Nevins Prize for best dissertation in US economic history.

Jesse Bradford

Ph.D. in Sociology and Social Policy, 2009.
Associate Partner, Healthcare Analytics at McKinsey & Company

Traci Burch

Ph.D. in Government and Social Policy, 2007.
Associate Professor of Political Science, Northwestern University.
Research Professor, American Bar Foundation.

Trading Democracy for JusticeTraci Burch's latest book, Trading Democracy for Justice: Criminal Convictions and the Decline of Neighborhood Political Participation, has been published by University of Chicago Press (2013).

  • Winner of the APSA Ralph Bunche Book Award, 2014.

  • Winner of the APSA Urban Politics Best Book Award, 2014.

  • Winner of the APSA Law and Courts Section C.Herman Pritchett Award for Best Book in the Field of Law and Courts, 2014.

Creating a New Racial Order

Jennifer L. Hochschild, Vesla M. Weaver (Ph.D. '07), and Traci R. Burch's book, Creating a New Racial Order: How Immigration, Multiracialism, Genomics, and the Young Can Remake Race in America, has been published by Princeton University Press (2012).

Dissertation awards:

  • Winner of the American Political Science Association's E.E. Schattschneider Award for the best dissertation in American Politics (2009).

  • Winner of the the American Political Science Association's William Anderson Award for the best dissertation in field of state and local politics, federalism, or intergovernmental relations (2008).

  • Winner of the American Political Science Association's Urban Politics Section award for best dissertation in urban politics (2008) for her dissertation, “Punishment and Participation: How Criminal Convictions Threaten American Democracy.” 

  • Winner  2007 Harvard University Robert Noxon Toppan prize, awarded for the best essay or dissertation upon a subject of political science.

Naomi Calvo

Ph.D. in Public Policy, 2007.
Director of Research and Accountability, Bellevue School District, Washington.