PhD Alumni

Brielle Bryan

Brielle Bryan

PhD in Sociology and Social Policy, 2018
Assistant Professor of Sociology, Rice University
Faculty affiliate, Texas Policy Lab

Co-winner (with Alexandra Killewald) of American Sociological Association Population Section Award for Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship, 2019.

Winner of American Sociological Association Family Section Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award, 2018.

Peter Bucchianeri

Peter Bucchianeri

PhD in Government and Social Policy, 2018
Research Consultant, Center for Effective Lawmaking, Vanderbilt University

Postdoctoral Fellow, Center for Effective Lawmaking, Vanderbilt University, 2018-2020.

Winner of the American Political Science Association's Best Dissertation Award on Urban Politics, 2019.

Winner of Best Paper Award in Urban or Regional Politics, American Political Science Association Section on Urban and Local Politics and Urban Affairs Review, 2019.

Winner of the Susan Clarke Young Scholars's Award, American Political Science Association Setion on Urban and Local Politics, 2019.

Awarded Harvard University's Senator Charles Sumner Prize for his dissertation, "Ideology and Factions in Urban Politics," 2018.

Traci R. Burch

Traci Burch

PhD in Government and Social Policy, 2007.
Associate Professor of Political Science, Northwestern University.
Research Professor, American Bar Foundation.

Trading Democracy for JusticeTraci Burch's latest book, Trading Democracy for Justice: Criminal Convictions and the Decline of Neighborhood Political Participation, has been published by University of Chicago Press (2013).

Winner of the American Political Science Association's Ralph Bunche Book Award for the best scholarly work in political science that explores ethnic and cultural pluralism, 2014. 

Winner of the American Political Science Association's Best Book Award in Urban Politics, 2014.

Winner of the American Political Science Association's Law and Courts Section C.Herman Pritchett Award for Best Book in the Field of Law and Courts, 2014.

Creating a New Racial Order

Jennifer L. Hochschild, Vesla M. Weaver (PhD '07), and Traci R. Burch's book, Creating a New Racial Order: How Immigration, Multiracialism, Genomics, and the Young Can Remake Race in America, has been published by Princeton University Press (2012).

Winner of the American Political Science Association's E.E. Schattschneider Award for the best dissertation in American Politics (2009).

Winner of the the American Political Science Association's William Anderson Award for the best dissertation in field of state and local politics, federalism, or intergovernmental relations (2008).

Winner of the American Political Science Association's Urban Politics Section award for best dissertation in urban politics (2008) for her dissertation, “Punishment and Participation: How Criminal Convictions Threaten American Democracy.” 

Winner  2007 Harvard University Robert Noxon Toppan prize, awarded for the best essay or dissertation upon a subject of political science.

Naomi Calvo

Naomi Calvo

PhD in Public Policy, 2007.
Director of Research, Evaluation, and Assessment, Bellevue School District, Washington.
Jack Cao

Jack Cao

PhD in Psychology, 2019.
Researcher at Facebook, Menlo Park, California.
Lorenzo Casaburi

Lorenzo Casaburi

PhD in Economics, 2013.
Swiss Re Foundation Assistant Professor of Development Economics, University of Zurich.

Postdoctoral Fellow,Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research (SIEPR), 2013-16.

Recipient of the Prize for Excellence in Development, German Economics Association & KfW, 2019.

Awarded Swiss National Science Foundation Eccellenza Grant, 2018.

Charlotte Cavaille

Charlotte Cavaillé

PhD in Government and Social Policy, 2014.
Assistant Professor of Political Science, Ford School of Public Policy, University of Michigan.

Visiting Fellow, Center for the Study of Democratic Politics, Princeton University, 2019-2020.

Winner of the Institute for Advanced Study in Toulouse (IAST) Multidisciplinary Prize rewarding “scientifically exciting and ambitious endeavors” (with Daniel L. Chen, Toulouse School of Economics), 2016.

Winner of the American Political Science Association's Mancur Olson Award for Best Dissertation in Political Economy, 2016. The award committee noted its pioneering contribution ”to our understanding of heterogeneity in public responses to the objective increase in inequality, a major policy and political issue of our time.” 

Anmol Chaddha

Anmol Chaddha

PhD in Sociology & Social Policy, 2015.
Principal with the Reimagining Capitalism team, Omidyar Network.
Victor Tan Chen

Victor Tan Chen

PhD in Sociology and Social Policy, 2012.
Associate Professor of Sociology, Virginia Commonwealth University.

American Sociological Association Postdoctoral Fellow, University of California, Berkeley (2012-2014).

Cut LooseVictor Tan Chen's book, Cut Loose: Jobless and Hopeless in an Unfair Economy, based on his doctoral dissertation, has been published by the University of California Press (2015).

Winner of the John T. Dunlop Outstanding Scholar Award for “contributions to research that address industrial relations/employment problems of national significance.” Labor and Employment Relations Association, 2017.

Winner of College of Humanities and Sciences Faculty Award for Excellence in Scholarship, Virginia Commonwealth University, 2016.

Co-winner of the Thomas A. Kochan and Stephen R. Sleigh Best Dissertation Award, Labor and Employment Relations Association, 2012.

The Missing ClassKatherine S. Newman and Victor Tan Chen are the authors of The Missing Class: Portraits of the Near Poor in America, Beacon Press (2007).

Olivia Chi

Olivia Chi

PhD in Education, 2020.
Assistant Professor, Boston University Wheelock College of Education and Human Development.
Hanley Chiang

Hanley Chiang

PhD in Economics, 2008.
Associate Director of Human Services Research, Mathematica Policy Research.
Andrew Clarkwest

Andrew Clarkwest

PhD in Sociology and Social Policy, 2005.
Senior Associate for Social and Economic Policy, Abt Associates.
Sarah Cohodes

Sarah Cohodes

PhD in Public Policy, 2015.
Associate Professor of Education Policy and Economics, Teachers College Columbia University.

Distinguished CESifo Affiliate Award, Economics of Education, 2016.

Winner of the Jean Flanigan Outstanding Dissertation Award, Association for Education Finance and Policy, 2016.