Carrie Conaway

Carrie Conaway

AM in Sociology and Social Policy, 2001.
Senior Lecturer, Harvard Graduate School of Education.

Carrie Conaway, formerly Chief Strategy and Research Officer for the Massachusetts Dept of Elementary and Secondary Education, joins the Harvard Graduate School of Education as a senior lecturer beginning July 2019.

President, Association for Education Finance and Policy, 2018.

Alicia Sasser Modestino

Alicia Sasser Modestino

PhD in Economics, 2001.
Associate Professor of Public Policy and Urban Affairs and Economics.
Associate Director, Dukakis Center for Urban and Regional Policy.

The Brookings Institution, Non-resident Scholar, 2016-present.
Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL) at MIT, Invited researcher, 2018-present.

Previously, Modestino was a Senior Economist at the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston, where she led numerous research projects on regional economic and policy issues.

Mario Luis Small

Mario Luis Small

PhD in Sociology, 2001.
Grafstein Family Professor of Sociology, Harvard University.

Someone To Talk To, by Mario Luis SmallMario Luis Small's latet book, Someone To Talk To, examines how people use their networks to cope with loss, victimization, failure, and other debilitating stressors. Oxford University Press (2017).

Best Publication, Sociology of Mental Health Section, American Sociological Association, 2018.

Outstanding Recent Contribution Award, Social Psychology Section, American Sociological Association, 2018.

James Coleman Award for Best Book, Rationality and Society Section, American Sociological Association, 2018.


Unanticipated GainsMario Luis Small's second book, Unanticipated Gains, Origins of Network Inequality in Everyday Life, has been published by Oxford University Press (2009).

Winner of the 2009 C. Wright Mills Award, Society for the Study of Social Problems.


Villa VictoriaMario Luis Small's first book, Villa Victoria: The Transformation of Social Capital in a Boston Barrio, has been published by University of Chicago Press (2004).

Winner of the 2005 C. Wright Mills Award, Society for the Study of Social Problems.

Winner of the the 2005 Robert E. Park Award for Best Book, Community and Urban Sociology Section of the American Sociological Association. 

Ruth Lopez Turley

Ruth N. López Turley

PhD in Sociology, 2001.
Professor of Sociology, Rice University.
Director, Houston Education Research Consortium (HERC), and Founder, National Network of Education Research-Practice Partnerships.
Justin Wolfers

Justin Wolfers is a senior fellow at the Peterson Institute for International Economics and professor of economics and public policy at the University of Michigan.

Justin Wolfers

PhD in Economics, 2001.
Professor of Economics and Professor of Public Policy in the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, University of Michigan.
Senior Fellow, Peterson Institute for International Economics.

Visting Professor of Economics, The University of Sydney, 2014-present.
Senior Scientist, Gallup, 2011-present.

Non-Resident Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution, 2009-present.
Research Associate, NBER, 2009-present.

Named one of the  top 25 economists under the age of 45 by the IMF, 2014.

Recipient of the Excellence Award in Global Economic Affairs, Kiel Institute (Germany), 2007.