Celeste Watkins-Hayes

Celeste Watkins-Hayes

Ph.D. in Sociology, 2003.
Associate Professor of Sociology and African American Studies, Northwestern University.

Celeste Watkins-Hayes is inaugural recipient of the Jacquelyn Johnson Jackson Early Career Award from the Association of Black Sociologists (2013).

Celeste Watkins-Hayes has received a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Investigator Award and a National Science Foundation Early CAREER Award to study the social and economic consequences of HIV/AIDS for Chicago-area women (2009).

The New Welfare BureaucratsCeleste Watkins-Hayes's first book, The New Welfare Bureaucrats: Entanglements of Race, Class, and Policy Reform, has been published by the University of Chicago Press, 2009.

Finalist, C. Wright Mills Book Award, Society for the Study of Social Problems, 2009.

Honorable Mention, Max Weber Book Award, Section on Organizations, Occupations, and Work, American Sociological Association, 2011.


Alumni year

Alumni department