About James M. Stone and Cathleen D. Stone

James M. and Cathleen D. Stone
Photo by John Werner

Jim Stone is the founder, chair, and CEO of the Plymouth Rock group of companies.

He began his career teaching economics after earning a PhD at Harvard University. From 1975 to 1979, he served as the insurance commissioner for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and then served as chair and commissioner of the U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission.

He is a member of the Executive Committee of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a member of the Board of ProPublica, a former member of the board of the Boston Globe, former vice chair of Global Post, chair emeritus of Management Sciences for Health, and chair of EdVestors’ School on the Move Panel.

Jim is the author of the bestselling book, Five Easy Theses: Commonsense Solutions to America’s Greatest Economic Challenges and is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Cathleen Douglas Stone is president of the James M. and Cathleen D. Stone Foundation. She also serves on the Board of Directors for Boston Harbor NOW, the Museum of African American History Boston and Nantucket, The Supreme Court Historical Society, WBUR Boston, The Wilderness Society, and the Boston Water and Sewer Commission.

Cathy received her undergraduate degree from American University, her law degree from the Washington College of Law, and her Masters in Administrative Law from Georgetown University.

In 1994, former Boston Mayor Thomas Menino appointed her as the City's first Chief of Environmental Services. Prior to serving in this role, she was a partner in the Boston law firm Foley, Hoag & Eliot.

In 2017, Cathy received the Norman B. Leventhal Excellence in City Building Award.